View Current

University Recognition Committee Charter

This is the current version of this document. You can provide feedback on this document to the document author - refer to the Status and Details on the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Purpose

(1) The role of the University Recognition Committee is to oversee QUT’s staff awards program, the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence and to recommend award recipients to the Vice-Chancellor and President in accordance with the Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence Policy.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Accountability

(2) The University Recognition Committee is a management committee accountable to the Vice-Chancellor and President for fulfilling its responsibilities.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Responsibilities

(3) The University Recognition Committee undertakes the following responsibilities:

  1. considers nominations for Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence for recommendation to the Vice-Chancellor and President for approval.
  2. determines the relevant award categories, guidelines and nomination procedures each year.
  3. considers the number of awards to be granted, the recipients of the awards, and the nature of the awards to each recipient.
  4. provides advice to the Vice-Chancellor and President on policy and procedural matters relating to the awards.
  5. provides relevant information to staff (and where relevant students).
Top of Page

Section 4 - Delegations

(4) The University Recognition Committee recommends award recipients to the Vice-Chancellor and President to approve Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence (refer to Register of Authorities and Delegations, delegation VC100).

Top of Page

Section 5 - Membership

(5) Membership categories:

  1. Vice-Chancellor and President or nominee as Chair;
  2. Vice-President (People) and Chief People Officer ex officio;
  3. Executive Director, Marketing and Communications ex officio;
  4. The following members are nominated by the Vice-Chancellor and President:
    1. a Deputy Vice-Chancellor;
    2. a Vice-President;
    3. an Executive Dean;
    4. an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander staff member (where the University Recognition Committee does not otherwise include a member who has identified as Indigenous Australian);
    5. one academic staff member;
    6. one professional staff member; and
  5. Two previous awards for excellence recipients nominated by the Chair (normally one academic and one professional staff member).
Top of Page

Section 6 - Meeting frequency

(6) University Recognition Committee meets annually, or as needed.

Top of Page

Section 7 - Procedures

(7) University Recognition Committee operates in accordance with Council Procedure 1 - Committee Operations.

Top of Page

Section 8 - Secretariat

(8) A nominee of the Vice-President (Administration) and University Registrar is secretary, on recommendation of the Vice-President (People) and Chief People Officer.